Scotty McCreery Releases "Damn Strait" From Forthcoming Album "Same Truck," Set for Release this Friday, Sept. 17

Ahead of the release of his highly anticipated fifth studio album, Triple Tigers recording artist Scotty McCreery imparts a cocktail of heartbreak and nostalgia with his steel-drenched country weeper “Damn Strait” from the 12-song collection Same Truck available this Friday, Sept. 17. Listen to “Damn Strait” HERE and pre-order/pre-save Same Truck HERE.

Written by Trent Tomlinson and Jim Collins, “Damn Strait” cannily honors country music icon George Strait, even as the singer bemoans the loss of his lover, associating Strait’s songs with her since they were the couple’s favorites.

“Every now and then you hear a song that sounds so much like you,” recalls McCreery. “I grew up as a huge George Strait fan, and when I heard this song, I raised my hand to say, ‘I want this one.’ Every country fan has a George Strait story, and everyone has a memory attached to their favorite songs.”

McCreery goes on to say, “The first country music concert I ever went to was George Strait, Reba and Lee Ann Womack. When I saw that show, I said, ‘I’m gonna do that one day.’”

Set to perform the song on NBC’s “TODAY” next Tuesday at Sept. 21 during the third hour, McCreery’s rich baritone strings together titles of Strait’s songs to tell the story:

‘Nobody In His Right Mind Would've Left Her’
That was her favorite song
She sang along every time it came on

The first time we danced was to ‘Marina Del Rey’
And I fell right there and then
I didn’t want that song to end

‘Baby Blue’ was the color of her eyes
I can still see them in my mind
Probably will for the rest of my life

Lead single “You Time” continues to climb the charts at Country radio and is currently at No. 4 on both the Billboard and Country Aircheck/Mediabase radio charts, while Billboard boasts, “The first single from his forthcoming album bodes well for his streak of three back-to-back No. 1s to continue.”

The title track “Same Truck,” co-written with Ashley Gorley, Zack Crowell and Taylor Phillips, landed on ET’s “New Music Releases” and found praise from MusicRow as “celebratory,” while “the ringing guitars back an anthemic lyric of unity and brotherhood…Well written and performed with elan.”

Once again produced by Frank Rogers, Derek Wells and Aaron Eshuis, the team who produced his previous project (the RIAA Gold certified Seasons Change), Same Truck is a reflection of where McCreery is in life now as a 27-year-old man married to the love of his life for three years and who is also celebrating his 10th year as an entertainer. A limited edition, alternate cover for the album is available exclusively at McCreery’s online store, along with Same Truck-themed merchandise and more.

Released in 2018, Seasons Change debuted at No.1 on the Billboard Country Albums Chart and contained three consecutive No. 1 hits: the Double RIAA Platinum certified “Five More Minutes,” Platinum certified “This is It,” and Gold certified “In Between.”

In the midst of his You Time Tour, McCreery has been performing several songs from the new album in concert. “You never know how new songs are going to go over in the live show, but our audiences sure seem to enjoy them from the reaction we’re receiving,” said the North Carolina native. He’s also been direct support on select tour dates with Old Dominion.

Track list for Same Truck:

Same Truck (Scotty McCreery, Ashley Gorley, Taylor Phillips, Zach Crowell)
You Time (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Aaron Eshuis)
It Matters To Her (Scotty McCreery, Rhett Akins, Lee Thomas Miller)
Damn Strait (Trent Tomlinson, Jim Collins)
It’ll Grow On Ya (Jeremy Bussey, Jason Blaine, Taylor Phillips, Adam Wood)
The Waiter (Scotty McCreery, Matthew West, Frank Rogers)
Why You Gotta Be Like That (Scotty McCreery, Jordan Schmidt, James McNair)
Home (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Brent Anderson, Tammi Kidd)
Carolina To Me (Scotty McCreery, Jeremy Bussey, Taylor Phillips)
Small Town Girl (Scotty McCreery, Ashley Gorley, Zach Crowell)
That Kind of Fire (Scotty McCreery, Josh Hoge, Matt McVaney, Justin Wilson)
How Ya Doin’ Up There (Scotty McCreery, Monty Criswell, Derek George, Tyler Reeve)

Cron Job Starts